• Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle


© 2017 by Ashley Pezzotti

Alex Weitz EPK

Award winning jazz saxophonist, composer, and arranger

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • CD Baby Social Icon

“It is impossible not to be knocked out by the sheer creative firepower of Alex Weitz.” -The Jazz Word

“His ideas are fluid, his abilities top-notch... riveting lines and a huge warm sound” -Jazz Music Archives

“Alex Weitz's new CD "Luma" is an impressionistic masterwork” -Lemonwire

About Alex

Alex Weitz is a saxophonist, composer, and arranger currently based in Miami, FL.  He began his career in Arizona as a member of the award-winning Tucson Jazz Institute Ellington Band.  Originally influenced by classic jazz luminaries such as Joe Henderson, Dexter Gordon, and Count Basie, Alex's style has developed to fuse many classical, ethnic, and modern jazz influences.  Alex studied at the prestigious University of Miami Frost School of Music where he completed his undergraduate studies in Jazz Saxophone Performance and graduate studies in Studio Jazz Writing, gaining invaluable mentorship and experience as a member of the Henry Mancini Institute Jazz Septet under famed trumpeter Terence Blanchard.

Alex has appeared at prestigious venues including the Kennedy Center Millennium Stage, the Monterey Jazz Festival, the Banff Center, the Arsht Center with George Benson’s “Inspirations”, the Telluride Jazz Festival, and the New Orleans Jazz Festival.  He has been the recipient of numerous Downbeat and ASCAP awards as a performer and composer, and recently had his original "Song for Peace" licensed as the theme song for a Swedish national documentary.

Alex is currently performing and touring the music from his second album "Luma" as well as premiering arrangements from his upcoming release.  Alex's group is currently an acoustic quartet with saxophone, piano, bass, and drums.  His performances are known for their exciting, memorable original compositions, strong group dynamic, and creative reinterpretations of standards. Since releasing "Luma", Alex and his group have headlined at venues such as the Tucson Jazz Festival, the Arts Garage, South Beach Jazz Festival,  WDNA Jazz Gallery, and Marco Island Performing Arts Center.  In 2019, Alex plans to continue to reach new audiences by performing, touring, and recording with his quartet.

Instagram Feed

Instagram Feed